Getting Advice from Caddies
Rule 10.2b(4) contains new restrictions when getting assistance from caddies.
Have you ever seen an LPGA event on TV where a caddie has stood behind a player to line her up on the tee box so she knows exactly what direction she should be hitting?
Well, that is now a penalty!
You can no longer have your caddie or partner line you up before you take your stance. This is on the putting green, on the tee, anywhere in the fairway, or anywhere on the course.
The Nitty Gritty
- The player’s caddie must not deliberately stand in a location on or close to an extension of the line of play behind the ball for any reason.
- If the player takes a stance in breach of this Rule, he or she cannot avoid penalty by backing away.
Exception – Ball on Putting Green: When the player’s ball is on the putting green, there is no penalty under this Rule if the player backs away from the stance and does not begin to take the stance again until after the caddie has moved out of that location.
Check out Rule 11, Ball In Motion Accidentally Hits a Person or Outside Influence.