Leaving The Flagstick In The Hole
You’ve probably heard that in 2019 you may leave the flagstick in the hole while you’re putting. However, did you know that you could incur a penalty in a couple of scenarios?
View this post on Instagram
I’m pretty sure you haven’t heard about the penalty on the green with the new #2019golfrules TURN UP THE VOLUME After you’ve watched this video, tell me if you’ve already thought about this. My buddy Diane is wearing the GGBLUE Fab Fit Shorts – get 15% off all Fab Fit pants & shorts @ggblueluxesport with code GETFAB and tell me what colors you get!! ⛳️ ⛳️ And as soon as I get a chance I’ll review our 3 fabulous nights in a 2 bedroom villa at @pelicanhillresort The golf courses aren’t the only fabulous things about that place! This was our first @inspirato vacation and it was amazing! Can’t wait to share more! #golfrules #golfstyle #rulesofgolf #golftips #puttfordough @golfrules_questions any comments?
Rule 13 The Flagstick
Be Decisive About the Flagstick Position
Since leaving the flagstick in is all new to us in 2019, it’s important to be decisive about the flagstick position. Be sure to communicate your preference clearly because after you have made a stroke with the flag left in the hole, you cannot ask someone to deliberately move it so that you’ll avoid it.
In other words, you cannot change your mind after you’ve made the stroke. If you do, you will incur the general penalty.
“The player must not try to gain an advantage by deliberately moving the flagstick to a position other than centered in the hole.
If the player does so and the ball in motion hits the flagstick, he or she gets the general penalty.”
If another player or his or her caddie does so before or during the stroke and the player makes the stroke without being aware of this, or does so while the player’s ball is in motion after the stroke, that other player gets the General Penalty.”
The General Penalty is two strokes in Stroke Play and loss of hole in Match Play.
View this post on Instagram
You may have heard that there will no longer be a penalty if your ball hits the flagstick when you are putting from the putting green. That’s true, however, communication will be important because if you make your stroke and then ask your caddie or someone else to remove the flagstick (after you’ve already made your stroke) you incur the general penalty. That term is new in 2019. In stroke play it’s a one-stroke penalty. In matchplay it is loss of hole. So many new rules to learn! Q: will you leave the flag in while putting? Comment below… #golf #golfrules #rulesofgolf #golftips ##2019golfrules #golfrules2019 @monarchbresort
Pop over to my Instagram and let me know what other video rules breakdowns you’d like to see.
GirlfriendsGuideToGolf – Golf Etiquette, Rules & Style