When is your ball considered "holed"?

Rule 13.2c says: “If any part of the ball is in the hole below the surface of the putting green, the ball is treated as holed even if the entire ball is not below the surface.”

The rule goes on to say:

“If no part of the Ball is in the hole below the surface of the putting green: -the ball is not holed and must be played as it lies -if the flagstick is removed and the ball moves (whether it falls into the hole or moves away from the hole) there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced on the lip of the hole (see Rule 14.2)”

Another good result of the modernization of the rules of golf.

Also read: What to do if you accidentally move your ball on the green.

For more details on the rules, head over to usga.org

San Diego native, interior design nut,
and golf addict (with a hopelessly bad swing)

If you’ve been bitten by the golf bug like I have, sign up below.
I can guarantee it will be an informative and fun experience!

Recommended Posts